MG & Rover - XPower Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Lighten up dude
1,154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
:

Hi all

I've put this post together over several hours because I hope to help others who will face the same problems as I have trying to source a ZS saloon exhaust in 2010. It relates to a Mk2 180 although the solution will work for any ZED. Note the ZS hatchback and Mk1 saloon are different around the back section length AFAIK.

I'm not a mechanic or affiliated to any garage and I don't have a mate who can weld - just a normal person looking for a simple, professional solution. This came from Tony Banks in West Yorkshire (Longlife franchise across the UK). I've tried to be objective and fair to all suppliers and contributors but please don't flame me if you disagree with my conclusions or your trade contacts are better than mine - just add your own comment at the end. I've included lots of pictures and information to help everyone including those new to the ZS. Links to suppliers at the end of the post.

Thanks in particular to Typhoon180, DemonPaul, R8NMG, Kelvin, Dan 1971, Talkingcars and Raptor for their invaluable input. :grouphug:

A bit of history
The OEM system (unless you went for Janspeed at the dealer/point of purchase) fails at around 4/5 years. My car is a late 2005 and the back box went last year. I cobbled this with a second hand OEM box from a forum member for £40 but really it was a temp solution - it went last month and an inspection showed both the centre box and flexi pipe were shot too. The image below is a very common point of failure.

System breakdown
The exhaust system essentially breaks down into four sections, excluding the cast manifold bolted to the engine. The diagram below (courtesy Rimmer Bros) shows these clearly - 1) a flexipipe, 2) connected to the catalytic convertor 3) the mid box and intermediate pipe 4) and the back box.

Availability