MG & Rover - XPower Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey all another newbie here !
i got myself a zs 180 mk1 on a 2002 about 4 months ago ,
its been a great car and all i have had to do so far is a cv joint and rear wheel bearing which are both easy jobs as most know ,

however my problem is the clutch :confused:
i have read all the post on the upgrade kit for the hydrolics but i dont think thats my problem ? a few mate i have spoke to who are in the motor trade have said my problem is the pressure plate but im just after some MG peoples thoughts !!!
clutch point is very very low of what there is of it
from cold it drives fine for few miles then it becomes a complete t### to get into gear ,
i really have to ram the gearstick very hard to get it into first when stopped , and then when going through the gears its hard to select all the way through to fifth , and when i need to select reverse thats another story !!!
with clutch all the way to the floor the car creeps forward unless i keep the brake on as if its not engaging fully ,

when engine is off it selects all gears lovely and very smooth ,

please can someone help me source the fault !!!!

clutch itself or hydrolics ? many thanks

·
Registered
1,315 Posts
hey all another newbie here !
i got myself a zs 180 mk1 on a 2002 about 4 months ago ,
its been a great car and all i have had to do so far is a cv joint and rear wheel bearing which are both easy jobs as most know ,

however my problem is the clutch :confused:
i have read all the post on the upgrade kit for the hydrolics but i dont think thats my problem ? a few mate i have spoke to who are in the motor trade have said my problem is the pressure plate but im just after some MG peoples thoughts !!!
clutch point is very very low of what there is of it
from cold it drives fine for few miles then it becomes a complete t### to get into gear ,