MG & Rover - XPower Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I work as an artworker/designer for a printing company. The economic climate has had bad affect on us and consequently they are closing the design department which means Im probably off. After an initial set of meetings today, the director concerned indicated that should I apply for redundancy then it would be considered. However, the job I have is no longer in the new set up so theoretically they have made me redundant. although to tie in with the "TUPE" effect new jobs are available (im not qualified for any of them).

I have been told to avoid voluntary redundancy as it has consequences on insurance policies but as I dont have any that would be affected then that does not affect me. But are there any benefits that I could lose because of it being voluntary against an "agreement" as such with letting me go? I believe this is called gardening leave. Im not sure about this as I want to be able to find another job as soon as possible but having been there for 14 years the gardening leave is actually 3 months.

Would i be better off in this instance going for voluntary redundancy or continue for the agreement as they suggest? (what is in it for them that it is not voluntary?)

Anyone had this sort of experience, your help would be very much appreciated?

Thanks

·
Registered
951 Posts
Sorry to hear about this Martin.

The company I work for has been through a couple of rounds of redundancies over the last 18 months or so. I have been 'at risk' of redundancy, but haven't been overly bothered or worried about it - waiting to see what happened, but have touched on some of the issues.