MG & Rover - XPower Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I was an apprentice, I used to work on Mg Roadsters/GT's and Midgets. I could not afford one at the time and have watched the prices over the years just go up and up and then seeing various programs about restoration and the cost involved.

So I took the plunge and decided to buy a modern version to avoid the rust issues and bought myself a 04 plate TF Spark at a reasonable price as a project and what a project to start with.

Brake's back and front, pads and discs all round needed, suspension upper arm bushes gone, no service (MG wise) history but local garage bills for last 3 yrs. Water getting in passenger door, rims kerbed, exhaust flex pipe weld broken. Looks like the second Key has been snapped in petrol cap and the fuel gauge only shows 1/2 full when the tank is brimmed, under body coolant pipes corroded and a wheel a bearing gone.

This is not to mention future work in the winter to do, cam bet - tensioner -water pump-up rated head gasket - bottom rail.

So I've spent the last week doing the paint work and interior and cleaning under the bonnet area and cleaned/treated the hood.

The parts will be arriving this week, Tuesday onward:

front pads
front discs
rear pads
rear discs
s/s under body water pipes
2x upper arm kits
badge rear
wheel bearing

I'll deal with the fuel gauge later.

If all parts turn up, I'll be working a marathon Friday night and Saturday to get the work done.

Then I might be able to have a drive on Sunday ( here's hoping).

Welcome to sports car ownership :)

·
R.I.P [The Red Zed] MG ZS 180
19,410 Posts
Nice to see you are still around and good luck with the project.

Do you still have the ZR?:)

·
YELLOW PERIL
2,407 Posts
I keep on seeing "N" reg MGF's going for £650 - £850 and they do look good, but limited parking and a wife who reckons a ZS and a Punto are enough, means it just a dream.