MG & Rover - XPower Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Stuck my notice in at Boots where I worked as a driver for nearly 5 years. So the last day rolls around and guess what I get ?

Naff all .... Not even a card, thank you, or sod off we hate you.

Bunch of tight, miserable gits the whole lot of them. Even the Work experience kids get a thank you card.

Well they can all drowned in the cheap tacky perfume they sell as Im off to quadruple my pay.

·
R.I.P [The Red Zed] MG ZS 180
19,410 Posts
That does not surprise me at all

Employers gratuity went out of the window in the Thatcher years.

·
Registered
1,315 Posts
I left my job where I had been 5.5 years a fortnight ago, didnt expect anything didnt get anything, not one of my collegues would come up to head office with me to give me a lift home so I had to get the train for 4 hours after driving 3 to hand my car back.

Times are tight, employers think they can treat people like **** as they are lucky to have a job. I walked into a job a week after leaving so it cant be that bad out there.

·
YELLOW PERIL
2,407 Posts
When I was working, it was for a landcsaping and grounds maintenance company. We maintained the grounds for married quarters for the Navy, Army and RAF. We treated everyone the same, used to say without the guys on the tools we wouldnt have any money coming in. They were also the ones dealing on a day to day basis with the client.

Had a very low turnover in staff, because we used to put them on training courses, spraying, tree surgery, H & S, First Aid.

Trouble was competitive tendering kept squeazing prices, company that ended up winning our contracts treated their workers like dirt. One of their workers left them and joined us about a year before they won the contract. He couldnt believe that he could talk to anyone, including directors. He had to go through foremen if he wanted to say anything.