MG & Rover - XPower Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello peeps. I am new to the mgzr and have now got a MGZR160 with a dead engine. I have removed the head and started porting it but have also just purchased another engine with the following spec.
k series 1.8 vvc race engine, the block, head and sump have been chemically cleaned and then acid etched, then sprayed in satin silver heat proof paint, which looks great, it has a new water pump, the oil pump has been checked and is in very good order, the pistons have been fitted by SH Engineering In Bromsgrove and are genuine X Power MG ZS touring car, made by Omega, and have been fitted with brand new rings from Omega , they have only done two seasons, all of the bearings are all matched too, the cylinder head has been decked and skimmed by 15 thou to give a compression ratio of 10.75-1, the standard valves have been ground in, the cams are not fitted as I was going to get a solid vvc cam from QED, but never got round to it, so, the original vvc ones and a pair of mgf 135 cup cams come with it, all of the vvc items are there, and a vvc converter kit from Mike Satur are also there, a set of Hot wires leads, cam belt, seals and gaskets and verniers, also included are the twin 40 carbs and manifold. The cam cover has been smoothed and painted red, and has a pack of stainless steel Allen key bolt set, and it has a alloy lotus oil cap, there are two spare pistons and rods which are the same race ones as fitted in the block, and the standard pistons are there too, this engine has not been run.
So may the fun begin.
I am not using the carbs and intake so if anyone out there wants to fit these to a mini running a K series they are up for sale. I will also have a spare set of pistons complete bottom end and probably a spare head at some point.

·
R.I.P [The Red Zed] MG ZS 180
19,410 Posts
Hi and welcome to XPF:MG:

Keep us updated with your Project:yup:

·
Registered
23 Posts