MG & Rover - XPower Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, name is Dave (25). I am an Aircraft Technician in the RAF based in Norfolk, although my home town is portsmouth.

I am about to buy a ZS 180 so I thought id introduce myself, you guys know your stuff. I have picked up loads so far.

I have owned a TF130 in the past, which was a great little car. Always had a thing for MG's.

Cheers :)

·
Registered
41 Posts
Welcome from another n00b mate, I bought a ZS 180 a week and a half back and absolutely love her, you probably already know the key things to check but just incase:

1. Check timing belts have been done (3 of them)
2. The plastic clutch slave cylinder is prone to faults/fail

I have heard there are other things to check for but im no expert, good luck and I hope you get a real peach.

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey thanks, yeah I have had a good dig around. Just wondering, does the Aux belt get changed with the others? Also im not sure how to know that the clutch is going (or what is 'normal') in a new car.

Im very much looking forward to the experience!

·
Registered
41 Posts
Hey thanks, yeah I have had a good dig around. Just wondering, does the Aux belt get changed with the others? Also im not sure how to know that the clutch is going (or what is 'normal') in a new car.

Im very much looking forward to the experience!
Im not sure mate, I know theres 3 but not sure, im sure someone on here can help though. with the clutch I think the check is to have the car in 2nd with the handbrake on and lift the clutch (no gas) the car should pull a little but if the clutch comes up all the way and still shows no sign of pulling or stalling then it could be an issue (but if im wrong hopefully someone can put me right)

Good luck.

·
Registered
3,492 Posts
Hi and welcome.

It is normal to change all 3 belts.