MG & Rover - XPower Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How many others out there have experienced losing their job recently and finding it a tough world out there to get new employment?

I lost mine about two weeks ago and have been very active applying for new jobs. I had applied for other jobs before i was made redundant too.

The problem I have is this .... I am an artworker/print designer. I do not have qualifications such as a degree as I have progressed through many years of working in the print trade. This it seems counts for zilch!! Or is it my age at 46??

Whatever the reason, I have been turned down many times, not even had a reply with some of the older applications and yet its clear from the job advertised that I can do the job with my eyes closed.

I work with InDesign, Photoshop, Quark, can design websites, manage a small studio, liaise with clients and manage print projects from design concept right through to the final print or pdf. But I DONT have a degree to do this, experience yes, and plenty of it, but not a degree!!

So, is the print industry about the lose someone who can do a good job simply because my experience is getting ignored.

And then there is the question of what to do next. I would like to get more in to web development and have set myself a task to learn Dreamweaver. Alternatively I would like to get into sports photography (but who doesnt??).

Its early days I know but already Im learning how tough it is to find new work. Its disheartening at this early stage but how is it for those poor souls who have the skills, experience and can't find anything after several months or years.

I would consider retraining into a new trade but I have a mortgage etc and need a paying job. Or consider a franchise such as valeting.

I am applying for my PHV license to do limousine and wedding day driving would could be a new direction for me.