MG & Rover - XPower Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
(POSTED ON theMGZS.co.uk ALSO - SORRY TO MEMBERS OF BOTH FORUMS)

Ok so.... Found a lovely Mk2 180, low mileage but the belts have not been done. Which is not a problem if the car is the right price, and I think it is very reasonable.

What Im wondering is, are there any experienced MG/Rover mechanics on sites like this that can do the belts/water pump as either a mobile mechanic or a garage around the East Midlands/Anglia area. Im hoping mobile mechanics but I feel it is a massive job for one day, especially the V6. I would rather have this kind of job done by an enthusiast rather than someone who really does not care...

Also, would I be better off buying the parts individually so that I am purely paying labor costs for whoever fits them? I would do it myself (Im an aircraft mechanic) but I neither have the space/time nor tools..... A quick glance at ebay see's a company close to me quoting £800 which I fear is the norm for the V6.

Bit of a mouthful but any thoughts are much appreciated.

Dave

·
Registered
600 Posts
(POSTED ON theMGZS.co.uk ALSO - SORRY TO MEMBERS OF BOTH FORUMS)

Ok so.... Found a lovely Mk2 180, low mileage but the belts have not been done. Which is not a problem if the car is the right price, and I think it is very reasonable.

What Im wondering is, are there any experienced MG/Rover mechanics on sites like this that can do the belts/water pump as either a mobile mechanic or a garage around the East Midlands/Anglia area. Im hoping mobile mechanics but I feel it is a massive job for one day, especially the V6. I would rather have this kind of job done by an enthusiast rather than someone who really does not care...